萨尼贝尔脱壳

萨尼贝尔岛是世界闻名的炮击海滩,被认为是世界上最高3炮击海滩之一。 关于它的任何17英里海滩,萨尼贝尔发现炮弹,这将让你无法呼吸的丰盈。

为什么萨尼贝尔是唯一的

趴在墨西哥湾,具有独特的东西方向,萨尼贝尔的沙滩是天然的“净”的炮弹在当前向北行驶。 每一天,一个新的类型的外壳似乎主宰海滩和每天拥有新体验。 贝壳在沙滩上的类型,根据一年的时间有所不同。

LIVE炮击是非法的!
不要把活的贝壳,其中包括海胆,海星(海星)和沙美元。 以现场弹是非法的,沉重的罚款($ 500元壳牌初犯),以及法律执行。

经验法则是,如果它是活的; 看并轻轻将其返回到水中。 请不要扔炮弹的现场,因为这可以致残或杀死动物。 离开现场壳保证了将继续在我们的岛屿贝壳几年来。

炮击技巧
时间与地点壳牌

我们经常问的访客时,壳的最佳时机。 理想的组合是在满月期间有西北风,风暴期间高赛季结束后两三天一个非常低潮。 因为所有这些条件是不可能同时出现所有,剥壳愉快地满足于其中的任何一个。 不是所有的炮弹是在沙滩上 - 走出入水和韦德缓慢。

有没有避​​免的事实,炮弹的数量和品种是在冬季更大,这要归功于西北风,在一年的时间。 但是,无论你访问什么季节,你总能找到的东西,会刺激你,让你的假期精彩的纪念品。

一天炮击的最佳时间是取决于潮汐。 退潮时,+ 30分钟永远是最好的时间作为退水暴露沙洲和留下低谷,往往举行各种既贝壳和海洋生物。 本地潮图表,定制你的休假日期,可以在这里找到BestofSanibelCaptiva.com 打印一个专为您的旅游日期,并把它沿。

最佳位置? 右出你的门,在西风酒店! 如果您决定探索萨尼贝尔和Captiva的公共海滩,一定要检查我们的地图,每对这一页的末尾描述。

服饰及配件

除了一般的沙滩用品(帽子,防晒油,水,太阳眼镜),有需要考虑一些额外的项目:
•水鞋或旧运动鞋 - 强烈推荐! 削减你的脚放在锋利的一块外壳可能会导致严重的传染。 不是你想花你的假期的方式。
•容器携带您的发现 - 沙桶,网袋或塑料食品袋工作。
•壳牌篮网与萨尼贝尔“雪铲” - 卖在几个当地的商店,有些人发誓他们挖掘和冲浪线特别舀。

壳牌标识
简简介软体动物

海运壳实际上是被称为软体动物动物的外骨骼。 由于动物没有骨结构,他保护自己通过服用钙从水和砂和制造薄分泌覆盖他的软体。 这些层立即变硬,并逐步形成壳。

软体动物分为两组:univalves和贝类。

Univalves有一个外壳,一般的螺旋形。 动物通常是蜗牛和生命通过附着一个非常结实的肌肉内壳卷曲。 当威胁,蜗牛绘制自身置于外壳,与脚的底部,称为厣密封它。 鳃盖类似于人类的指甲硬质材料。

双壳类两个壳铰接在一起。 强壮的肌肉附着在动物的壳的两侧。 受到威胁时,这种动物捕捉它外壳关闭。

萨尼贝尔和科帕奇的贝壳 - 的贝利 - 马修斯贝壳博物馆courtsey点击查看原图

萨尼贝尔和科帕奇的贝壳
-对贝利-马修斯贝壳博物馆courtsey
点击查看原图

常见萨尼贝尔壳

令人惊讶的是,萨尼贝尔拥有超过200种贝壳的。 你知道从战斗海螺锥? 怎么样带状和真正的郁金香有什么区别? 我们强烈建议您访问的贝利-马修斯贝壳博物馆 ,而你在这里一起访问他们的网站。 西南佛罗里达州的壳上市,完整的照片,是确定和了解你找到一个很好的资源。

袖珍婴儿及贝壳

跪或坐在沙滩上,仔细一看,你会发现炮弹的完全是另外一个宇宙 - 微缩模型和婴儿炮弹。 微缩模型一样大,因为他们永远不会得到的,而婴儿炮弹是他们年纪大了,更大的自我的完美的小版本。 很多人都惊讶地得知,微缩模型约占四分之三确定的所有壳种。

你可以找到缩影任何地方,在一年中的任何时间。 发展以眼他们有一个额外的好处; 你会发现自己放慢另一个缺口,当您移动到一个较小的世界。

罕见的贝壳

寻找一件珍品为他们收集每一个脱壳的梦想。 萨尼贝尔,赔率青睐的几乎比其他任何地方在世界上了。 同样地,你发现是运气的问题,但放心,你有那么好一个机会,因为在在正确的时间正确的地点是任何专家。

在壳最受追捧:

黄裳:乳白色外壳采用棕橙色,方斑。 没有真正原产于岛屿,黄裳住在深达200英尺,它并不少见。 这是经常带到了虾网,这也解释了为什么有许多可用的本地shell商店。 什么罕见的贝壳洗了沙滩上。 海湾的海滩,在冬季是找到一个你最好的选择。

狮子的爪子:如果黄裳是剥壳的梦想,狮子的爪子是圣杯。 如黄裳,这扇贝是不是原生的岛屿,但生长在深水。 经过强烈的风暴,你可能会发现在海滩上的一个阀门(半)。 外形美观,比较重,它的大小和相当强的。 有7-9肋骨,标有较小的“肋”和碰伤。 狮子的爪子通常是深沉,红葡萄酒的颜色。 黄色和橙色的颜色是可能的,但极为罕见。

常见的日晷:尽管名字,还有关于日晷什么常见的。 圆形,拱形,该日晷有6或7轮生有紫色和棕色的几个“串珠”线。 底座颜色是灰白色或黄褐色。 在海滩上发现一个机会很渺茫,在一年中的任何时候,但不是不可能的。

苏格兰阀盖:这样的美,它长到大小2“至4”,喜欢的海胆和海胆用餐,因此生活在浅水中。 配备耐用的外壳,它是圆了5轮生和短,尖鼻子。 基本颜色是乳白色方形,浅棕色斑点。

无结节奇迹:也叫无扰动奇迹,这个难得的标本是不是一个畸形的马海螺缺少的颠簸,而是一种不同的,更小的品种。 长大到18“时,无结节奇迹是非常罕见的,只有住在周围的萨尼贝尔和Captiva的水域,偶尔南至马可岛。

其它发现

棘皮动物 - 海胆,海胆,海星

软体动物都没有,你可能会遇到当你游览海湾和海滩的唯一有趣的动物。 棘皮动物是一群海洋动物与基于石灰壳和/或刺充当骨架和生物的保护。 所有成年棘皮动物有星星图案,无论是生物本身,像海星,或者在shell像海胆和海胆的格局形成。

请注意,所有的棘皮动物涵盖实时脱壳法下,不得服用。

地图萨尼贝尔和Captiva的公众泳滩

地图萨尼贝尔和Captiva的公众泳滩
点击查看原图

公共海滩

停车在所有萨尼贝尔和Captiva的公共海滩是2.00美元每小时,并严格执行。 免费使用有效的许可证或牌照残疾人专用停车位。

萨尼贝尔岛

灯塔海滩和钓鱼码头 -位于萨尼贝尔的东端和折回海湾边。 历史悠久的,工作的灯塔,T-码头钓鱼码头和浮桥自然教育径,通过原生湿地缠绕都设在这里。 公共厕所和洗足可用。 一个好的地方去寻找小型炮弹!

GULFSIDE城公园/阿尔及尔海滩 -野餐桌和一个广泛的,美丽的海滩都在阿尔及尔弄了卡萨Ybel道。 公共厕所和洗足可用。

大海鲢湾/特罗斯特海滩 -坐落在美丽的大海鲢湾路西湾道(纳普的点)的南端。 大很多,方便停车关闭的大海鲢湾路西湾道前用短息到海滩。 残疾人专用停车位是在旁边的木栈道到海滩独立很多。 公共厕所和洗足可用。

鲍曼的海滩 -位于朝岛的北端,关闭圣-盖路到鲍曼的海滨路。 质朴与宁静,你不会找到任何酒店在这里。 公园,步行过一座桥到僻静的白色沙滩。 室外淋浴,浴足区和大型公共厕所可用,以及一个儿童游乐区和广泛的健身步道。

盲通 -就位于桥科帕奇前。 一个广泛的,美丽的海滩,受欢迎的钓鱼和看日落。 便携式厕所可用。 停车位非常有限。

Captiva的岛

特纳海滩 -盲通的Captiva的侧面,这个海滩是深受剥壳和渔民。 没有游泳,由于急流和岩石。 厕所可用。

Captiva的海滩 -位于Captiva的驱动月底刚刚过去的入口处,南海岛度假村。 另一个伟大的地方看日落。 停车位非常有限。

更多信息

有关萨尼贝尔脱壳的更多信息,请访问次数:
贝利-马修斯贝壳博物馆
最好萨尼贝尔Captiva的视频

Sanibel Shelling

Sanibel Island is world renowned for its shelling beaches and considered to be one of the Top 3 shelling beaches in the world. On any of its seventeen miles of beach, Sanibel reveals an abundance of shells that will take your breath away.

Why Sanibel Is Unique

Lying in the Gulf of Mexico, with a unique east-west orientation, Sanibel’s sandy shores act as a natural “net” for shells traveling northward in the current. Each day a new type of shell seems to dominate the beach and every day holds a new experience. The types of shells on the beach vary according to the time of year.

LIVE SHELLING IS ILLEGAL!
Do not take live shells, including sea urchins, sea stars (star fish) and sand dollars. Taking live shells is illegal, the fines hefty ($500 PER SHELL for a first offense), and the law is enforced.

The rule of thumb is that if it is alive; look and gently return it to the water. Please don’t throw live shells, as this can maim or kill the creature. Leaving live shells ensures that there will continue to be shells on our islands for years to come.

Shelling Tips
When & Where To Shell

We’re often asked by visitors when is the best time to shell. The ideal combination is an exceptionally low tide during a full moon with a northwest wind, two or three days after a storm during high-season. Since all of these conditions are not likely to occur all at the same time, shellers happily settle for any one of them. Not all shells are on the beach – get out into the water and wade slowly.

There’s no avoiding the fact that the number and variety of shells is greater during the winter months, thanks to the northwest winds at that time of year. However, no matter what time of year you visit, you’ll always be able to find something that will thrill you and make a wonderful souvenir of your vacation.

The best time of day for shelling is dependent on the tides. Low tide, +/- 30 minutes is always the best time as the receding water exposes sandbars and leaves behind troughs that often hold a wide variety of both shells and sea life. A local tide chart, customizable to your vacation dates, can be found at BestofSanibelCaptiva.com. Print one specifically for your dates and bring it along.

Best Location? Right out your door at West Wind Inn! Should you decide to explore the public beaches on Sanibel and Captiva, be sure to check our map and descriptions of each toward the end of this page.

Attire & Equipment

Besides the usual beach necessities (hat, sunscreen, water, sunglasses) there are a few extra items to consider:
• Water Shoes or Old Sneakers – Strongly recommended! Cutting your foot on a sharp piece of shell can result in a nasty infection. Not the way you want to spend your vacation.
• A container to carry your finds – sand pails, mesh bags or plastic grocery bags work well.
• Shell Nets and Sanibel “Snow Scoops” – Sold in several local stores, some people swear by them for digging and scooping especially at the surf line.

Shell ID
A Brief Intro To Mollusks

A sea shell is actually the outer skeleton of an animal called a mollusk. Since the animal has no bone structure, he protects himself by taking calcium from the water and sand and making a thin secretion that covers his soft body. These layers harden immediately and gradually form the shell.

Mollusks are divided into two groups: univalves and bivalves.

Univalves have one shell, generally spiral shaped. The animal is usually a snail and lives curled inside the shell attached by an extremely strong muscle. When threatened, the snail draws itself into the shell, sealing it with the bottom of the foot, called an operculum. The operculum is a hard material similar to human fingernails.

Bivalves are two shells hinged together. Strong muscles attached the animal to both sides of the shell. When threatened, this animal snaps it shell shut.

Seashells of Sanibel and Captiva - courtsey of Bailey-Matthews Shell Museum Click for full size image

Seashells of Sanibel and Captiva
- courtsey of Bailey-Matthews Shell Museum
Click for full size image

Common Sanibel Shells

Amazingly, Sanibel boasts 200+ species of sea shells. Do you know a cone from a fighting conch? How about the difference between a banded and true tulip? We highly recommend visiting the Bailey-Matthews Shell Museum while you’re here along with a visit to their website. The listing of Southwest Florida Shells, complete with photos, is an excellent resource for identifying and learning about your finds.

Miniatures & Baby Shells

Kneel or sit on the beach, look closely, and you’ll discover a whole other universe of shells – miniatures and baby shells. Miniatures are as big as they will ever get, while Baby Shells are perfect little versions of their older, bigger selves. Many people are surprised to learn that miniatures account for roughly three quarters of all shell species identified.

You can find miniatures just about anywhere, at any time of the year. Developing an eye for them has an added bonus; you will find yourself slowing down yet another notch as you move into a smaller world.

Rare shells

Every sheller dreams of finding a rare specimen for their collection. On Sanibel, the odds favor that more than almost anywhere else in the world. Again, what you finding is a matter of luck, but rest assured that you have as good of a chance as any expert of being in the right place at the right time.

Among the most sought after shells:

Junonia: A creamy white shell with brown to orange, squared spots. Not really native to the islands, the Junonia lives at depths up to 200 feet, where it is not rare. It is frequently brought up in shrimp nets, which explains why there are many available in local shell shops. What is rare is the shell washing up on the beach. The Gulf beaches, during the winter months are your best bet for finding one.

Lion’s Paw: If the Junonia is a sheller’s dream, the Lion’s Paw is the Holy Grail. Like the Junonia, this scallop isn’t native to the islands, but thrives in deep water. After a strong storm, you might find a single valve (half) on the beach. The shell is beautiful, rather heavy for its size and quite strong. There are 7-9 ribs, marked with smaller “riblets” and bumps. Lion’s Paws are usually a deep, red wine color. Yellow and orange colors are possible, but extremely rare.

Common Sundial: Despite the name, there is nothing common about the Sundial. Circular and dome shaped, the Sundial has 6 or 7 whorls with several “beaded” cords of purples and browns. The base color is whitish grey or tan. Chances of finding one on the beach are slim at any time of the year, but not impossible.

Scotch Bonnet: This beauty, which grows to a size of 2” to 4”, likes to dine on Sea Urchins and Sand Dollars and therefore lives in shallow water. A sturdy shell, it is rounded with 5 whorls and a short, pointed nose. Base color is creamy white with square, light brown spots.

Knobless Wonder: Also called Bumpless Wonder, this rare specimen is not a deformed Horse Conch missing its bumps, but rather a different, smaller variety. Growing up to 18”, the Knobless Wonder is very rare, only living in the waters around Sanibel and Captiva and occasionally as far south as Marco Island.

Other Finds

Echinoderms – Sand Dollars, Sea Urchins, Sea Stars

Mollusks aren’t the only interesting creatures you may encounter as you explore the Gulf and beach. Echinoderms are a group of marine animals with a lime based shell and/or spines that serve as the skeleton and creature’s protection. All adult Echinoderms have a star pattern, formed by either the creature itself, like the Sea Star, or the pattern in the shell like Sand Dollars and Sea Urchins.

Please note that all Echinoderms are covered under the Live Shelling Laws and may NOT be taken.

Map of Sanibel & Captiva Public Beaches

Map of Sanibel & Captiva Public Beaches
Click for full size image

Public Beaches

Parking at all Sanibel and Captiva public beaches is $2.00 per hour and strictly enforced. Handicapped parking is free with a valid permit or license plate.

Sanibel Island

Lighthouse Beach & Fishing Pier – Located on the eastern tip of Sanibel and wrapping around to the bay side. The historic, working lighthouse, t-dock fishing pier and a boardwalk nature trail winding through native wetlands are all located here. Public restrooms and a foot wash are available. A good place to look for miniature shells!

Gulfside City Park / Algiers Beach – Picnic tables and a wide, beautiful beach are on Algiers Lane off Casa Ybel Road. Public restrooms and a foot wash are available.

Tarpon Bay / Trost Beach – Located at the southern end of Tarpon Bay Road at West Gulf Drive (Knapp’s Point). Large lot for easy parking off of Tarpon Bay Road before West Gulf Drive with a short hike to the beach. Handicapped parking is in a separate lot next to the boardwalk to the beach. Public restrooms and a foot wash are available.

Bowman’s Beach – Located toward the northern tip of the island, turn off San-Cap Road onto Bowman’s Beach Road. Pristine and quiet, you won’t find any hotels here. Park and walk over a bridge to secluded white beach. Outdoor showers, foot wash areas and large public restrooms are available as well as a children’s play area and extensive fitness trail.

Blind Pass – Located just before the bridge to Captiva. A wide, beautiful beach, popular for fishing and watching sunset. Portable restrooms are available. Parking is very limited.

Captiva Island

Turner Beach – The Captiva side of Blind Pass, this beach is popular with shellers and fishermen. No swimming due to swift currents and rocks. Restrooms are available.

Captiva Beach – Located at the end of Captiva Drive just past the entrance to South Seas Island Resort. Another great place to watch the sunset. Parking is extremely limited.

More Information

For more information on Sanibel Shelling, please vist:
Bailey-Matthews Shell Museum
Best Of Sanibel Captiva Video