سنيبل قصف

جزيرة سانيبل هو العالم الشهير لقصف الشواطئ والتي تعتبر واحدة من أعلى 3 الشواطئ القصف في العالم. على كل منطقة من سبعة عشر ميلا من الشاطئ، سنيبل يكشف وفرة من القذائف التي سوف تأخذ نفسا الخاص بك بعيدا.

لماذا سنيبل فريد من نوعه

الكذب في خليج المكسيك، مع الشرق والغرب التوجه فريدة من نوعها، شواطئ الفعل سنيبل الرملي باعتبارها طبيعية "صافي" للقذائف السفر شمالا في التيار. كل يوم نوع جديد من قذيفة يبدو للسيطرة على الشاطئ ويحمل كل يوم تجربة جديدة. أنواع قذائف على الشاطئ تختلف وفقا لهذا الوقت من العام.

نتيجة القصف الحقيقية غير قانوني!
لا تأخذ قذائف الحية، بما في ذلك قنافذ البحر، ونجوم البحر (السمك نجوم) ودولار الرمل. أخذ قذائف الحية غير قانوني، والغرامات الباهظة (500 دولار PER SHELL للجريمة الأولى)، وتطبيق القانون.

وبحكم التجربة هو أنه إذا كان على قيد الحياة؛ تبدو وبلطف إعادته إلى الماء. من فضلك لا رمي قذائف الحية، وهذا يمكن أن تشوه أو قتل المخلوق. ترك قذائف الحية يضمن ستظل قذائف على جزرنا لسنوات قادمة هناك.

القصف نصائح
عندما وأين شل

ونحن كثيرا ما كنت سألت من قبل الزوار عندما هو أفضل وقت لقذيفة. مزيج مثالي هو المد منخفضة بشكل استثنائي خلال القمر الكامل مع الرياح شمالية غربية، وبعد يومين أو ثلاثة أيام عاصفة خلال موسم الذروة. منذ كل هذه الظروف ليس من المرجح أن يحدث كل ذلك في الوقت نفسه، لحسن الحظ لسحق تسوية أي واحد منهم. ليس كل قذائف على الشاطئ - الخروج في الماء وواد ببطء.

ليس هناك تجنب حقيقة أن عدد ومتنوعة من قذائف أكبر خلال أشهر الشتاء، وذلك بفضل رياح شمالية غربية في ذلك الوقت من السنة. ومع ذلك، بغض النظر عن الوقت من السنة التي تزورها، وعليك أن تكون دائما قادرة على العثور على شيء من شأنها أن التشويق لكم وجعل هدية تذكارية رائعة من عطلة الخاص بك.

أفضل وقت من اليوم لقصف يعتمد على المد والجزر. انخفاض المد، + / - 30 دقيقة هو دائما أفضل وقت كما يفضح المياه تنحسر الحواجز الرملية ويترك وراءه أحواض التي غالبا ما تعقد طائفة واسعة من كل من قذائف والحياة البحرية. مخطط المد المحلية، وتخصيص مواعيد لعطلة الخاص بك، ويمكن الاطلاع على BestofSanibelCaptiva.com . طباعة واحد خصيصا للالتواريخ وجعله على طول.

أفضل مكان؟ الحق في الخروج الباب الخاص بك في وست الرياح نزل! يجب أن تقرر لاستكشاف الشواطئ العامة على سنيبل وكابتيفا، تأكد للتحقق من الخريطة وأوصاف كل نحو نهاية هذه الصفحة.

الملابس ومعدات

إلى جانب الضرورات الشاطئ المعتاد (قبعة، واقية من الشمس، والمياه، والنظارات) هناك عدد قليل من البنود الإضافية للنظر:
• أحذية المياه أو قديم أحذية - يوصى بشدة! يمكن قطع قدمك على قطعة حادة من قذيفة يؤدي إلى عدوى سيئة. لا بالطريقة التي تريدها لقضاء عطلتك.
• وعاء لحمل الاكتشافات الخاصة بك - دلاء الرمل، أكياس شبكية أو أكياس البقالة البلاستيكية تعمل بشكل جيد.
• شل شبكات وسنيبل "المجارف سنو" - تباع في العديد من المتاجر المحلية، وبعض الناس أقسم بها للحفر وتجريف وخصوصا في خط الأمواج.

قذيفة ID
A مقدمة موجزة لالرخويات

قذيفة البحر هو في الواقع الهيكل العظمي الخارجي للحيوان الرخوي يسمى. منذ الحيوان لا يوجد لديه بنية العظام، وقال انه يحمي نفسه من خلال اتخاذ الكالسيوم من الماء والرمال و إفراز الرقيق الذي يغطي جسده لينة. هذه الطبقات تتصلب فورا وتشكل تدريجيا قذيفة.

وتنقسم الرخويات إلى مجموعتين: univalves وذوات الصدفتين.

Univalves ديك قذيفة واحدة، على شكل حلزوني عموما. الحيوان وعادة ما يكون الحلزون وحياة كرة لولبية داخل وعاء المرفقة من قبل العضلات قوية للغاية. عندما هدد، الحلزون توجه نفسها في وعاء، وختم ذلك مع الجزء السفلي من القدم، ويسمى الغطاء الخيشومي. الوصاد هو المواد الصلبة مشابهة لأظافر الإنسان.

ذوات الصدفتين هي يتوقف قذيفتي معا. عضلات قوية تعلق الحيوان لكلا الجانبين من قذيفة. عندما هدد، ويستقر هذا الحيوان أنه قذيفة مغلقة.

الأصداف البحرية من سنيبل وكابتيفا - courtsey من بيلي-ماثيوز شل متحف انقر للحصول على الصورة بالحجم الكامل

الأصداف البحرية من سنيبل وكابتيفا
- courtsey من بيلي-ماثيوز شل متحف
انقر للحصول على صورة بالحجم الكامل

قذائف سنيبل المشتركة

مثير للدهشة، سنيبل يضم 200 + أنواع من قذائف البحر. هل تعرف مخروط من محارة القتال؟ ماذا عن الفرق بين الخزامى النطاقات وصحيح؟ ونحن نوصي بشدة زيارة المتحف شل بيلي-ماثيوز حين كنت هنا مع زيارة لموقعه على الانترنت. إدراج قذائف جنوب غرب ولاية فلوريدا، كاملة مع الصور، هو مصدر ممتاز لتحديد والتعرف على الاكتشافات الخاصة بك.

المنمنمات والطفل الأصداف

الركوع أو الجلوس على الشاطئ، تبحث عن كثب، وسوف يكتشف الكون كله من قذائف أخرى - المنمنمات وقذائف الطفل. المنمنمات هي كبيرة كما أنها سوف تحصل من أي وقت مضى، في حين قذائف الطفل هي إصدارات الكمال قليلا من كبار السن، والأنفس أكبر بهم. كثير من الناس يستغرب ان المنمنمات تمثل ما يقرب من ثلاثة أرباع جميع الأنواع قذيفة تحديدها.

يمكنك العثور المنمنمات في أي مكان تقريبا، في أي وقت من السنة. وضع العين بالنسبة لهم له مكافأة إضافية؛ سوف تجد نفسك تباطؤ بعد درجة أخرى وأنت تتحرك في عالم أصغر.

قذائف نادرة

كل الأحلام المقشر العثور على عينة نادرة لتحصيلها. على Sanibel، والاحتمالات تؤكد أكثر من أي مكان آخر في العالم. مرة أخرى، ما هو تقصي مسألة حظ، ولكن أن تطمئن إلى أن لديك كما لا بأس به من فرصة في أي خبير من التواجد في المكان المناسب في الوقت المناسب.

من بين أكثر المناطق المرغوبة للقذائف:

Junonia: قذيفة أبيض دسم مع البني إلى اللون البرتقالي، مربع البقع. لا الأصلي حقا إلى الجزر، ويعيش في Junonia أعماق تصل إلى 200 قدم، حيث أنها ليست نادرة. وكثيرا ما ربيته في شباك الروبيان، وهو ما يفسر لماذا هناك العديد من المحلات التجارية المتاحة في قذيفة المحلية. ما هو نادر هو قذيفة الغسيل على الشاطئ. على شواطئ الخليج، خلال أشهر الشتاء هي أفضل رهان للعثور على واحدة.

باو الأسد: إذا كان Junonia هو حلم المقشر، وباو الأسد هو الكأس المقدسة. مثل Junonia، وهذا التقوقع ليس السكان الأصليون لجزر، ولكن يزدهر في المياه العميقة. بعد عاصفة قوية، قد تجد صمام واحد (نصف) على الشاطئ. قذيفة جميلة، بدلا الثقيلة لحجمها وقوية جدا. هناك 7-9 الأضلاع، مع وضع علامة أصغر "riblets" والمطبات. الكفوف الأسد وعادة ما تكون عميقة والأحمر لون النبيذ. ألوان الأصفر والبرتقالي ممكنة، ولكنها نادرة للغاية.

عقرب الشمس مشترك: على الرغم من الاسم، لا يوجد شيء مشترك حول عقرب الشمس. دائرية وعلى شكل قبة، وعقرب الشمس ديه 6 أو 7 جدلات مع العديد من الحبال "مطرز" من البنفسجي والبني. اللون الأساسي هو اللون الرمادي أو بيضاء تان. فرص العثور على واحد على الشاطئ ضئيلة في أي وقت من السنة، ولكن لم يكن مستحيلا.

سكوتش بونيه: هذا الجمال، التي تنمو إلى حجم 2 "إلى 4"، ويحب لتناول الطعام على قنافذ البحر والرمال دولار وبالتالي يعيش في المياه الضحلة. قذيفة قوي، ويتم تقريب مع 5 جدلات وقصيرة والأنف مدببة. اللون الأساسي هو الأبيض دسم مع مربع، وبقع البني الفاتح.

وندر Knobless: وتسمى أيضا Bumpless ندر، وهذا عينة نادرة ليس المشوهة الحصان القوقع المفقودين المطبات، ولكن بدلا مختلفة، أصغر متنوعة. تزايد تصل إلى 18 "، وKnobless ندر هي نادرة جدا، يعيشون فقط في المياه المحيطة سنيبل وكابتيفا وأحيانا جنوبا حتى جزيرة ماركو.

تقضي أخرى

شوكيات الجلد - دولار رمل، وقنافذ البحر، نجوم البحر

الرخويات ليست مثيرة للاهتمام فقط المخلوقات التي قد تواجهها كما استكشاف الخليج والشاطئ. شوكيات الجلد هي مجموعة من الحيوانات البحرية مع قذيفة الجير مقرها و / أو العمود الفقري التي تشكل الهيكل العظمي وحماية المخلوق. جميع شوكيات الجلد الكبار لديهم نمط نجمة، التي شكلتها إما المخلوق نفسه، مثل نجمة البحر، أو نمط في وعاء مثل الرمال دولار وقنافذ البحر.

يرجى ملاحظة أن جميع شوكيات الجلد تغطيها قوانين قصف مباشر وربما لا تكون اتخاذها.

خريطة سنيبل وكابتيفا العامة شواطئ

خريطة سنيبل وكابتيفا العامة شواطئ
انقر للحصول على صورة بالحجم الكامل

الشواطئ العامة

وقوف السيارات في جميع الشواطئ العامة سنيبل وكابتيفا 2.00 دولار للساعة الواحدة وبصرامة. مواقف المعاقين مجانا مع تصريح ساري المفعول أو لوحة ترخيص.

جزيرة سانيبل

شاطئ المنارة ورصيف صيد السمك - يقع على الطرف الشرقي من سنيبل والتفاف حول إلى الجانب الخليج. و، المنارة العمل، تي قفص الاتهام الرصيف الصيد التاريخية والطبيعة درب الممر المتعرج من خلال الأراضي الرطبة الأصلية كلها الموجودة هنا. تتوفر المراحيض العامة وغسل القدم. مكان جيد للبحث عن قذائف مصغرة!

Gulfside بارك سيتي / شاطئ الجزائر - الجداول نزهة و، الشاطئ الجميل واسعة هي على الجزائر لين قبالة كازا Ybel الطريق. تتوفر المراحيض العامة وغسل القدم.

تاربون باي / تروست بيتش - يقع في الطرف الجنوبي من خليج تاربون الطريق في الخليج حملة الغربية (نقطة ناب). الكثير كبيرة لسهولة وقوف السيارات الخروج من تاربون خليج الطريق أمام حملة غرب الخليج مع ارتفاع قصيرة إلى الشاطئ. مواقف المعاقين في الكثير منفصلة بجانب الممر إلى الشاطئ. تتوفر المراحيض العامة وغسل القدم.

شاطئ بومان - يقع نحو الطرف الشمالي من الجزيرة، وإيقاف سان كاب الطريق على شارع شاطئ بومان. البكر والهدوء، فإنك لن تجد أي الفنادق هنا. الحديقة والمشي فوق جسر إلى الشاطئ الأبيض منعزل. هي الاستحمام في الهواء الطلق، ومناطق غسل القدم ودورات المياه العامة الكبيرة المتاحة، فضلا عن منطقة لعب للأطفال واسعة درب اللياقة البدنية.

ممر عمياء - يقع قبل جسر لكابتيفا. A، الشاطئ الجميل واسعة، وشعبية لصيد الأسماك ومشاهدة غروب الشمس. تتوفر دورات المياه المحمولة. وقوف السيارات محدودة جدا.

جزيرة كابتيفا

تيرنر بيتش - الجانب كابتيفا من المكفوفين باس، هذا الشاطئ هو شعبية مع سحق والصيادين. لا السباحة بسبب التيارات السريعة والصخور. تتوفر دورات المياه.

كابتيفا بيتش - يقع في نهاية محرك كابتيفا الماضي فقط مدخل بحار جنوب جزيرة منتجع. آخر مكان عظيم لمشاهدة غروب الشمس. وقوف السيارات محدودة للغاية.

مزيد من المعلومات

لمزيد من المعلومات حول قصف سنيبل، يرجى فيست:
بيلي-ماثيوز شل متحف
أفضل من سنيبل كابتيفا فيديو

Sanibel Shelling

Sanibel Island is world renowned for its shelling beaches and considered to be one of the Top 3 shelling beaches in the world. On any of its seventeen miles of beach, Sanibel reveals an abundance of shells that will take your breath away.

Why Sanibel Is Unique

Lying in the Gulf of Mexico, with a unique east-west orientation, Sanibel’s sandy shores act as a natural “net” for shells traveling northward in the current. Each day a new type of shell seems to dominate the beach and every day holds a new experience. The types of shells on the beach vary according to the time of year.

LIVE SHELLING IS ILLEGAL!
Do not take live shells, including sea urchins, sea stars (star fish) and sand dollars. Taking live shells is illegal, the fines hefty ($500 PER SHELL for a first offense), and the law is enforced.

The rule of thumb is that if it is alive; look and gently return it to the water. Please don’t throw live shells, as this can maim or kill the creature. Leaving live shells ensures that there will continue to be shells on our islands for years to come.

Shelling Tips
When & Where To Shell

We’re often asked by visitors when is the best time to shell. The ideal combination is an exceptionally low tide during a full moon with a northwest wind, two or three days after a storm during high-season. Since all of these conditions are not likely to occur all at the same time, shellers happily settle for any one of them. Not all shells are on the beach – get out into the water and wade slowly.

There’s no avoiding the fact that the number and variety of shells is greater during the winter months, thanks to the northwest winds at that time of year. However, no matter what time of year you visit, you’ll always be able to find something that will thrill you and make a wonderful souvenir of your vacation.

The best time of day for shelling is dependent on the tides. Low tide, +/- 30 minutes is always the best time as the receding water exposes sandbars and leaves behind troughs that often hold a wide variety of both shells and sea life. A local tide chart, customizable to your vacation dates, can be found at BestofSanibelCaptiva.com. Print one specifically for your dates and bring it along.

Best Location? Right out your door at West Wind Inn! Should you decide to explore the public beaches on Sanibel and Captiva, be sure to check our map and descriptions of each toward the end of this page.

Attire & Equipment

Besides the usual beach necessities (hat, sunscreen, water, sunglasses) there are a few extra items to consider:
• Water Shoes or Old Sneakers – Strongly recommended! Cutting your foot on a sharp piece of shell can result in a nasty infection. Not the way you want to spend your vacation.
• A container to carry your finds – sand pails, mesh bags or plastic grocery bags work well.
• Shell Nets and Sanibel “Snow Scoops” – Sold in several local stores, some people swear by them for digging and scooping especially at the surf line.

Shell ID
A Brief Intro To Mollusks

A sea shell is actually the outer skeleton of an animal called a mollusk. Since the animal has no bone structure, he protects himself by taking calcium from the water and sand and making a thin secretion that covers his soft body. These layers harden immediately and gradually form the shell.

Mollusks are divided into two groups: univalves and bivalves.

Univalves have one shell, generally spiral shaped. The animal is usually a snail and lives curled inside the shell attached by an extremely strong muscle. When threatened, the snail draws itself into the shell, sealing it with the bottom of the foot, called an operculum. The operculum is a hard material similar to human fingernails.

Bivalves are two shells hinged together. Strong muscles attached the animal to both sides of the shell. When threatened, this animal snaps it shell shut.

Seashells of Sanibel and Captiva - courtsey of Bailey-Matthews Shell Museum Click for full size image

Seashells of Sanibel and Captiva
- courtsey of Bailey-Matthews Shell Museum
Click for full size image

Common Sanibel Shells

Amazingly, Sanibel boasts 200+ species of sea shells. Do you know a cone from a fighting conch? How about the difference between a banded and true tulip? We highly recommend visiting the Bailey-Matthews Shell Museum while you’re here along with a visit to their website. The listing of Southwest Florida Shells, complete with photos, is an excellent resource for identifying and learning about your finds.

Miniatures & Baby Shells

Kneel or sit on the beach, look closely, and you’ll discover a whole other universe of shells – miniatures and baby shells. Miniatures are as big as they will ever get, while Baby Shells are perfect little versions of their older, bigger selves. Many people are surprised to learn that miniatures account for roughly three quarters of all shell species identified.

You can find miniatures just about anywhere, at any time of the year. Developing an eye for them has an added bonus; you will find yourself slowing down yet another notch as you move into a smaller world.

Rare shells

Every sheller dreams of finding a rare specimen for their collection. On Sanibel, the odds favor that more than almost anywhere else in the world. Again, what you finding is a matter of luck, but rest assured that you have as good of a chance as any expert of being in the right place at the right time.

Among the most sought after shells:

Junonia: A creamy white shell with brown to orange, squared spots. Not really native to the islands, the Junonia lives at depths up to 200 feet, where it is not rare. It is frequently brought up in shrimp nets, which explains why there are many available in local shell shops. What is rare is the shell washing up on the beach. The Gulf beaches, during the winter months are your best bet for finding one.

Lion’s Paw: If the Junonia is a sheller’s dream, the Lion’s Paw is the Holy Grail. Like the Junonia, this scallop isn’t native to the islands, but thrives in deep water. After a strong storm, you might find a single valve (half) on the beach. The shell is beautiful, rather heavy for its size and quite strong. There are 7-9 ribs, marked with smaller “riblets” and bumps. Lion’s Paws are usually a deep, red wine color. Yellow and orange colors are possible, but extremely rare.

Common Sundial: Despite the name, there is nothing common about the Sundial. Circular and dome shaped, the Sundial has 6 or 7 whorls with several “beaded” cords of purples and browns. The base color is whitish grey or tan. Chances of finding one on the beach are slim at any time of the year, but not impossible.

Scotch Bonnet: This beauty, which grows to a size of 2” to 4”, likes to dine on Sea Urchins and Sand Dollars and therefore lives in shallow water. A sturdy shell, it is rounded with 5 whorls and a short, pointed nose. Base color is creamy white with square, light brown spots.

Knobless Wonder: Also called Bumpless Wonder, this rare specimen is not a deformed Horse Conch missing its bumps, but rather a different, smaller variety. Growing up to 18”, the Knobless Wonder is very rare, only living in the waters around Sanibel and Captiva and occasionally as far south as Marco Island.

Other Finds

Echinoderms – Sand Dollars, Sea Urchins, Sea Stars

Mollusks aren’t the only interesting creatures you may encounter as you explore the Gulf and beach. Echinoderms are a group of marine animals with a lime based shell and/or spines that serve as the skeleton and creature’s protection. All adult Echinoderms have a star pattern, formed by either the creature itself, like the Sea Star, or the pattern in the shell like Sand Dollars and Sea Urchins.

Please note that all Echinoderms are covered under the Live Shelling Laws and may NOT be taken.

Map of Sanibel & Captiva Public Beaches

Map of Sanibel & Captiva Public Beaches
Click for full size image

Public Beaches

Parking at all Sanibel and Captiva public beaches is $2.00 per hour and strictly enforced. Handicapped parking is free with a valid permit or license plate.

Sanibel Island

Lighthouse Beach & Fishing Pier – Located on the eastern tip of Sanibel and wrapping around to the bay side. The historic, working lighthouse, t-dock fishing pier and a boardwalk nature trail winding through native wetlands are all located here. Public restrooms and a foot wash are available. A good place to look for miniature shells!

Gulfside City Park / Algiers Beach – Picnic tables and a wide, beautiful beach are on Algiers Lane off Casa Ybel Road. Public restrooms and a foot wash are available.

Tarpon Bay / Trost Beach – Located at the southern end of Tarpon Bay Road at West Gulf Drive (Knapp’s Point). Large lot for easy parking off of Tarpon Bay Road before West Gulf Drive with a short hike to the beach. Handicapped parking is in a separate lot next to the boardwalk to the beach. Public restrooms and a foot wash are available.

Bowman’s Beach – Located toward the northern tip of the island, turn off San-Cap Road onto Bowman’s Beach Road. Pristine and quiet, you won’t find any hotels here. Park and walk over a bridge to secluded white beach. Outdoor showers, foot wash areas and large public restrooms are available as well as a children’s play area and extensive fitness trail.

Blind Pass – Located just before the bridge to Captiva. A wide, beautiful beach, popular for fishing and watching sunset. Portable restrooms are available. Parking is very limited.

Captiva Island

Turner Beach – The Captiva side of Blind Pass, this beach is popular with shellers and fishermen. No swimming due to swift currents and rocks. Restrooms are available.

Captiva Beach – Located at the end of Captiva Drive just past the entrance to South Seas Island Resort. Another great place to watch the sunset. Parking is extremely limited.

More Information

For more information on Sanibel Shelling, please vist:
Bailey-Matthews Shell Museum
Best Of Sanibel Captiva Video