追求幻影杜鹃红树林

他们一直在忙着“丁”亲爱的,跟踪杜鹃红树林。 这种鸟是很难被发现,因为它停留在红树林和获得在那里,以发现人们通常需要一艘船和一些特殊的技能。

作为一种特殊的野生动物补助的一部分,研究人员本挂在避难所,希望能发现之一。 那么,他们多成功。 通过打杜鹃的通话录音,他们可以哄一个显示在红树林分支。 然后,移动深入到红树林,他们能够得到两个展示。 这是前所未有的,在研究人员的经验。

其中一个鸟被抓获,并配有一条腿带和一个微型无线电发射器,这些将被用来跟踪鸟,看看它去,它是否离开眼前的栖息地。

由于大多数观鸟者都知道,用鸟的叫声,吸引鸟类中的“丁”亲爱的NWR是不允许的,如果没有特别许可。 由于大多数观鸟者也知道,即使没有鸟叫的协助下,避难所是一个肥沃的地区观看和拍摄许多物种的鸟类。 我们有很多客人在西风酒店专门留谁,因为背靠丁达林可以方便地鸟手表那里。

当然,他们也爱海滩(谁不),与海鸟成群这和温水游泳池,吸引观鸟老乡到池畔,并在泳池甲板小吃和饮料的酒吧放松。 这是真的SANIBEL。

我们真的爱这里有他们。

张贴在博客文章

发表评论

The Quest for the Illusive Mangrove Cuckoo

They have been busy at “Ding” Darling, tracking Mangrove Cuckoo. This bird is difficult to spot because it stays in the mangroves and getting in there to to spot one usually requires a boat and some special skills.

 

As part of a special wildlife grant, researchers have ben hanging out in the Refuge, hoping to spot one. Well, they more than succeeded. By playing a recording of the Cuckoo’s call, they were able to coax one to show on a mangrove branch. Then, moving deeper into the mangrove forest they were able to get two to present. This was unprecedented in the experience of the researchers.

One of those birds was captured and fitted with a leg band and a miniature radio transmitter, These will be used to track the bird to see where it goes and whether or not it leaves the immediate habitat.

 

As most birders know, using bird calls to attract birds is not allowed in “Ding” Darling NWR, without a special permit. As most birders also know, even without the assistance of bird calls, the refuge is a fertile area for watching and photographing birds of many species. We have many guests who stay at West Wind Inn specifically because our proximity to Ding Darling makes it convenient to bird-watch there.

 

Of course, they also love the beach (who doesn’t), which swarms with seabirds, and the heated pool, which attracts fellow birders to relax at poolside and at the pool-deck snack and beverage bar.  This is TRUE SANIBEL.

 

We truly love having them here, too.

Posted in Blog Post

Leave a Reply