مهرجان اديسون الضوء

EdisonFestivalLogo نسخة بين سوبر السلطانية والألعاب الأولمبية، وقد ترك طريق المعلومات السريع مجالا كبيرا للأنباء عن الحدث الأبرز في جنوب غرب ولاية فلوريدا - مهرجان اديسون الضوء - الذي سيقام في فورت مايرز. في الواقع، بعض الجوانب النموذجية لهذا الحدث جارية بالفعل، بمثابة الاحماء لأبرز الحدث الكبير.

المقبل حتى نهاية هذا الاسبوع، 9TH الأحد فبراير، وسط فورت مايرز سوف الساخنة المرح تشغيل جديد (13:00)، موكب جديد (02:30) والتتويج والجوائز (04:30) جديد.

إذا كنت غير معتاد على هذا الحدث السنوي، الذي تم الاحتفال به في شكل واحد أو آخر من فورت مايرز منذ عام 1938، وهنا بعض المعلومات الأساسية. تسليط الضوء على المهرجان الكبير موكب. سوف يستغرق مكان في فورت مايرز، في الساعة 7 مساء، على السبت 15 فبراير بدءا في استاد فورت مايرز مدرسة السامية اديسون والانتقال إلى نهايتها في منطقة نهر. (وهذا هو عكس الطريق في وقت سابق والتي بدأت وسط المدينة - الآن منطقة نهر - واصلت المدرسة العليا للاحتفال ملعب النهائي قد توصف مهرجان اديسون الضوء جراند موكب كأكبر، موكب الليل مضاءة في البلاد، على الرغم من في الآونة الأخيرة بعض المسيرات وعاء لعبة قد تجاوزت في حجم الحشد. انها لا تزال كبيرة من المستغرب لمجتمع صغير لدينا.

العصابات يسيرون تأتي من جميع أنحاء الدولة والبلاد، استقطب كل من شهرة الحدث والطقس لطيف فبراير شباط في جنوب غرب ولاية فلوريدا. ومن أبرز من العرض كما تم إدخال مهرجان الملكة والملك وملعبهم، يتم اختيارهم من السيدات الشابات في المجتمع. كما القوس لسكان المنطقة حتى الأصغر سنا، تم إنشاء موكب جديد، بما في ذلك الديوان الملكي الخاصة به "جديد"، وبالتالي التتويج 9 فبراير والعرض.

العودة إلى Grand Parade و كان واحدا من جوانب quirkier في العادة من السكان المحليين وضع كراسي قابلة للطي على الأرصفة على طول الطريق موكب لحجز مساحة لها ليلة كبيرة. منذ غالبا ما وضعت هذه العلامات المكان لمدة شهر أو أكثر قبل العرض، التي الأرصفة تناثرت مع كراسي قابلة للطي الألمنيوم لتصبح مصدر ازعاج غير جذابة. في الآونة الأخيرة، فقد حلت محلها شرائح من عرض شريط لاصق اسم الطرفين "المتحفظة". أهمية هذه التظاهرة لمدى شعبية جراند موكب هو للمتفرجين.

الاحماء لموكب الكبرى هي أحداث السبت مثل وسط المدينة قبل موكب الحزب في الذكرى المئوية بارك، والحرفية، وتظهر أيضا خمر في سينتينيال بارك وتشغيل 5K قبل العرض. على الأحد، 16 فبراير، هناك بلدة السيارات الكلاسيكية مشاهدة أسفل، المغفل تبختر (الكلاب على موكب) وحفلا موسيقيا خيريا في مركز ديفيس الفن.

كما يمكن أن أقول لكم، وهذا هو الكثير من الاشياء للقيام في عطلة نهاية الأسبوع واحدة. لحسن الحظ، إذا كنت تقيم معنا في WESTWIND نزل، يمكنك الضغط على الشاطئ في وقت قليل للاسترخاء.

شارك في بلوق وظيفة

Edison Festival Of Light

EdisonFestivalLogo copyBetween the Super Bowl and the Olympics, the information highway has left little room for news about the premier event in Southwest Florida – The Edison Festival of Light – which takes place in Fort Myers. In fact, certain outlier aspects of the event are already underway, as a warm up to the major event highlights.

Next up this weekend, Sunday Feb. 9th, downtown Fort Myers will hot the Junior Fun Run (1 PM), the Junior Parade (2:30 PM) and the Junior Coronation and Awards (4:30 PM).

If you are unfamiliar with this annual event, which has been celebrated in one form or another by Fort Myers since 1938, here is some background. The highlight of the festival is the Grand Parade. It will take place in Fort Myers, at 7 PM, on Saturday, Feb 15th starting at Fort Myers High School’s Edison Stadium and proceeding to the its conclusion in the River District. (This is a reversal of the earlier route which started downtown – now the River District – and continued to the High School for a final stadium celebration. The Edison Festival of Light Grand parade has been touted as the country’s largest, lighted nighttime parade, although lately some bowl-game parades may have surpassed it in crowd size. It is still surprisingly large for our small community.

Marching bands come from around the state and country, attracted by both the renown of the event and the nice February weather in Southwest Florida. A highlight of the parade as been the introduction the Festival Queen & King and their court, selected from young ladies in the community. As a bow to the even younger area residents, a Junior Parade was created, including its own “Junior” Royal Court, hence the Feb. 9th coronation and parade.

Returning to the Grand Parade, one of its quirkier aspects was the habit of local residents placing folding chairs on the sidewalks along the parade route to reserve their space for the big night. Since these place markers were often put out a month or more before the parade, sidewalks littered with aluminum folding chairs started to become an unattractive nuisance. Of late, they have been replaced by strips of duct tape displaying the name of the “reserving” parties. The significance of this is its demonstration how popular the Grand Parade is for spectators.

Warming up for the Grand parade are Saturday events such as a pre-Parade party downtown in Centennial Park, a craft and vintage show also in Centennial Park and a 5K run before the parade. On Sunday, Feb. 16th, there is a Classic Car Show down town, a mutt strut (dogs on parade) and a benefit concert at the Davis Art Center.

As you can tell, this is a lot of stuff to do on one weekend. Fortunately, if you are staying with us at WestWind Inn, you can squeeze in a little beach time to relax.

Posted in Blog Post