中轻陈冠希节

EdisonFestivalLogo副本 超级杯和奥运会之间,信息高速公路已经离开小房间约盛会在佛罗里达州西南部的新闻 - 光的爱迪生节 - 这发生在迈尔斯堡。 事实上,该事件的某些异常方面已经展开,作为热身的大事亮点。

接下来这个周末,周日2月9日,市中心迈尔斯堡将热少年长跑(1 PM),少年游行(2:30 PM)和少年加冕和奖励(4:30 PM)。

如果你不熟悉这个一年一度的盛会,自1938年以来已庆祝了这种或那种形式由迈尔斯堡,这里是一些背景。 节日的亮点是大巡游。 这将在迈尔斯堡,在下午7点,周六,2月15日起在迈尔斯堡高中的爱迪生体育场出发到河区的结论。 (这是一个逆转始于市区较早路线 - 现在河区 - 并继续在高中最后球场的庆祝活动中的大阅兵的陈冠希节已被吹捧为全国最大,点燃夜间巡游,虽然。最近一些碗游戏游行可能已经在人群中的大小超过了它。它仍然是惊人的大,我们的小社区。

军乐队来自各地的国家和国家,由事件双方的声誉和好的天气日在佛罗里达州西南部吸引。 阅兵的一大亮点是已经推出了节日女王和国王和他们的球场,从年轻女性在社会选择。 作为一鞠躬向更年轻的辖区居民,一个少年游行的创建,包括其自己的“小三”御庭,因此2月9日加冕游行。

久违的大游行,其quirkier的方面之一是当地居民把折叠沿游行路线的人行道椅子保留自己的空间,大晚上的习惯。 由于这些地方的标记,往往拿出一个月以上的游行之前,人行道堆满了铝合金折叠椅开始成为一个没有吸引力的滋扰。 最近,他们已被替换管道胶带条显示“保留”当事人的名字。 这样做的意义在于它展示了大巡游如何流行的是为观众。

热身的大游行是周六的事件,如预游行方在市区世纪公园,一门手艺和古董展也在世纪公园和游行前5K运行。 上周日,2月16日,有一个经典的车展下来镇,一个傻子支柱(狗游行)和义演音乐会在戴维斯艺术中心。

正如你所知道的,这是一个很大的东西做一个周末。 幸运的是,如果你是在西风酒店和我们住一起,你可以在一个小沙滩上的时间来放松挤。

张贴在博客文章

Edison Festival Of Light

EdisonFestivalLogo copyBetween the Super Bowl and the Olympics, the information highway has left little room for news about the premier event in Southwest Florida – The Edison Festival of Light – which takes place in Fort Myers. In fact, certain outlier aspects of the event are already underway, as a warm up to the major event highlights.

Next up this weekend, Sunday Feb. 9th, downtown Fort Myers will hot the Junior Fun Run (1 PM), the Junior Parade (2:30 PM) and the Junior Coronation and Awards (4:30 PM).

If you are unfamiliar with this annual event, which has been celebrated in one form or another by Fort Myers since 1938, here is some background. The highlight of the festival is the Grand Parade. It will take place in Fort Myers, at 7 PM, on Saturday, Feb 15th starting at Fort Myers High School’s Edison Stadium and proceeding to the its conclusion in the River District. (This is a reversal of the earlier route which started downtown – now the River District – and continued to the High School for a final stadium celebration. The Edison Festival of Light Grand parade has been touted as the country’s largest, lighted nighttime parade, although lately some bowl-game parades may have surpassed it in crowd size. It is still surprisingly large for our small community.

Marching bands come from around the state and country, attracted by both the renown of the event and the nice February weather in Southwest Florida. A highlight of the parade as been the introduction the Festival Queen & King and their court, selected from young ladies in the community. As a bow to the even younger area residents, a Junior Parade was created, including its own “Junior” Royal Court, hence the Feb. 9th coronation and parade.

Returning to the Grand Parade, one of its quirkier aspects was the habit of local residents placing folding chairs on the sidewalks along the parade route to reserve their space for the big night. Since these place markers were often put out a month or more before the parade, sidewalks littered with aluminum folding chairs started to become an unattractive nuisance. Of late, they have been replaced by strips of duct tape displaying the name of the “reserving” parties. The significance of this is its demonstration how popular the Grand Parade is for spectators.

Warming up for the Grand parade are Saturday events such as a pre-Parade party downtown in Centennial Park, a craft and vintage show also in Centennial Park and a 5K run before the parade. On Sunday, Feb. 16th, there is a Classic Car Show down town, a mutt strut (dogs on parade) and a benefit concert at the Davis Art Center.

As you can tell, this is a lot of stuff to do on one weekend. Fortunately, if you are staying with us at WestWind Inn, you can squeeze in a little beach time to relax.

Posted in Blog Post